Dausa District 10 April 1991, four tehsils of Jaipur Dausa, Sikrai, Baswa and Lalsot were formed separately. Mahua Tehsil of Sawai Madhopur District on August 15, 1992

Dausa is situated in a region widely known as Dundhar. The Chouhans & Raos ruled this land in 10th Century A.D. Dausa has privileged to become First capital of the then Dundhar Region. Dausa was an important political place for Dundhar region. The Chauhan Raja Soodh Dev ruled this region during 996 to 1006 AD. Later, from 1006 AD to 1036 AD, Raja Dule Rai ruled this region for 30 years.

As Dausa city is surrounded by Mahadev in five directions (Nilkanth, Gupteshwer, Sahajnath, Somnath and Baijnath), so it was named from Sanskrit word “Dhau and Sa”.

Dausa has given prominent freedom fighters to the nation. Late Shri Tikaram Paliwal & Late Shri Ram Karan Joshi were amongst the freedom fighters who gave their valuable contribution for the fight for independence and for amalgamation of the Princely States to form Rajasthan State. Late Shri Tikaram Paliwal was the first elected Chief Minister of Rajasthan in 1952 after independence. Also, Late Shri Ram Karan Joshi was the First Panchayati Raj Minister of the Rajasthan state who submitted the First Panchayati Raj Bill in the Vidhansabha in 1952.

The poet Sant Sunderdas was born on Chaitra Shukla Navami in Vikram Samvat 1653 in Dausa. He was a renowned Nirgun Panthi Sant and wrote 42 Grantha, out of which Gyan Sundaram & Sunder Vilas are famous.

Geographical & Physical Features

Dausa district comes under the Jaipur division and is located in the north eastern part of Rajasthan at 26.88°N and 76.33°E. The average height of the district above sea level is 333 m. Spread across an area of 3,404.78 sq km, Dausa district is surrounded by Alwar, Karauli, Sawai Madhopur, Tonk, Bharatpur and Jaipur. The soil is fertile and hence, almost all types of crops can be cultivated in the region. Northern Aravali ranges surround the district.

The major rivers of the district are Banganga and Morel around which 36 dams have been built to store the river water and the water from the rainfalls. The total capacity of these dams is 7,074 MCFT.The major dams of the region are MadhoSagar Dam, Morel Dam and Sainthal Sagar Dam.